Comparison

RE5 training for companies in 2026: workshops, in-house, providers and self-serve compared

There is no single best way; it depends on how new your reps are and how much tracking you need. Cohorts who already have the material and need practice plus a readiness record for the compliance file can use self-serve practice software such as PassPath Teams, from R249 a seat. Reps new to the material often start with a facilitated workshop or course (Growth In Motion, Milpark) or the MBSE online course, and small teams with a hands-on supervisor can study in-house with the free FSCA preparation guide. Many FSPs combine a workshop for new reps with practice and tracking for everyone.

Ready to set it up? Read how to set up RE5 and RE1 training for your team.

Last updated 27 October 2026 · Prices checked 27 October 2026

Every representative working under supervision must pass the RE5 (33 of 50 correct to pass) within two years of their date of first appointment (DOFA), the period allowed under FSCA FAIS Notice 86 of 2018, and until then the FSP carries the supervision and the competence-register record. A representative who is not under supervision must have passed it before being appointed. So the real question is which option gets a cohort through with the least time off the floor and the least admin.

Source for the two-year rule: FSCA FAIS Notice 86 of 2018, Exemption of Services under Supervision (FSCA copy).

Side by side

How much does RE5 training cost per rep?

Every external price is as published on the provider's own page, linked under the option with the date we checked it.

RE5 training options for companies compared on typical cost per rep, time off the floor, who tracks progress, evidence for the competence register and who each option suits.
OptionTypical cost per repTime off the floorWho tracks progressEvidence for the competence registerBest for
Our productPassPath publishes this page.PassPath TeamsFrom our Teams pageSee PassPath TeamsR249 per RE5 seat and R349 per RE1 seat, from 2 seats, paid once by card or EFT. 180 days per seat from when the rep accepts the inviteNone: reps practice in short sessions at their desk or on their phoneThe admin dashboard: readiness, criteria coverage, last activity, deadline countdown and at-risk flagsCSV or PDF register export, one row per rep per exam. It is a study record, not an FSCA certificate and not an official registerCohorts who have the material and need practice, mocks and someone tracking who is ready
Moonstone Business School (MBSE) online courseMoonstone, the exam body, states that it does not provide training, workshops or study material. MBSE is the training arm of the Moonstone group.Checked 27 October 2026. Sources: Moonstone Business School, RE5 training for FAIS representatives, Moonstone, Regulatory Exam Body pageR1 550 or R2 850 incl VAT (the page shows both; ask MBSE which applies)None scheduled: self-paced online, with a 6-week study plan and 12 months of accessThe rep, on MBSE's online learning platform. No employer reporting is stated: ask the providerNot stated: ask the providerReps who want a structured online course from the Moonstone group
External RE5 training providers (workshops and facilitated courses)Checked 27 October 2026. Sources: Growth In Motion, RE regulatory examination workshops, Milpark Education, RE5 exam support, Milpark Education, RE5 pricing schedule (PDF)R2 000 plus VAT (Growth In Motion workshop) to R4 010 (Milpark 4-week online course). Group rates: ask the provider2 or 3 workshop days (Growth In Motion, face to face or online via Teams), or a 4-week online course (Milpark)The facilitator. Growth In Motion offers progress reports to stakeholders on its managed online option for groupsNot stated as a register export: ask the providerNew reps who need live teaching and a facilitator to question
In-house study with the free official materialChecked 27 October 2026. Sources: FSCA preparation guide for the RE1 and RE5 (Moonstone library), Moonstone, Regulatory Exam Body pageNo course fee. The cost is the supervisor's and reps' timeWhatever study time you allowYou, usually in a spreadsheetWhatever you record yourselfSmall teams with an experienced supervisor who has time to run it

Prices and terms are published by each provider and change without notice. Check the provider’s own site before you book.

Option by option

Which RE5 training option suits which team?

What each one is good at, and when another option fits better.

Our productPassPath publishes this page.

PassPath Teams

PassPath is practice and tracking, not classroom teaching. Each rep gets a readiness score against the real pass mark, adaptive practice and timed mock exams, and you see the whole cohort on one dashboard with an export for the compliance file. It is the right choice when reps have seen the material and need to practice until they are ready. A rep who has never seen the material may still want a workshop or course first, and PassPath works alongside one.

Moonstone Business School (MBSE) online course

MBSE suits a rep who wants a structured online course with a set study plan (6 weeks) and 12 months to work through it, without leaving the office. It is a course for the individual: its page does not describe group bookings or reporting to an employer, so a company that needs progress reports or a register record should ask MBSE before enrolling a cohort. Taking this course does not change how the exam is set or marked.

External RE5 training providers (workshops and facilitated courses)

A facilitated workshop or course is the right choice when reps are new to the material and learn best from a person they can question. Growth In Motion runs a 2- or 3-day workshop and says special group rates are available on request; Milpark offers a 4-week online course and a 2-day online workshop for groups of at least 12 students, which it says can be tailored for corporate clients (workshop price not published: ask the provider). The trade-off is time off the floor and a fixed schedule, and the workshop ends before most reps sit the exam, so practice after the course is still up to them.

In-house study with the free official material

The FSCA preparation guide and Moonstone's free preparation videos cover what the exam tests, and for a small team with an experienced supervisor this can be enough. It costs nothing but time. What it does not give you is practice under exam conditions or a view of who is ready, so the supervisor ends up building that by hand, and the spreadsheet becomes the competence-register evidence.

Putting it together

Can you combine RE5 training options?

Most cohorts are mixed. A sensible default:

  1. Brand-new reps who have never seen the material: start with a workshop or a facilitated course, so someone teaches the concepts once.

  2. Everyone, from week one: PassPath for practice and timed mocks, until each rep scores above the pass mark (33 of 50) on full timed mocks, not just on practice.

  3. The supervisor: watch the dashboard for reps who stall or whose deadline is close, and book their exam once they are consistently above the pass mark.

  4. For the compliance file: export the register as CSV or PDF and keep it with the rest of your competence records. Remember the exam fee (R1 300 per sitting) is paid to Moonstone separately, whichever option you choose.

RE5 training for companies: frequently asked questions

No. The rule is that the representative passes the RE5 within the time allowed; it does not require any particular course or provider. Moonstone, the exam body, says it does not provide training and has no agreements with any training providers.

Yes. The FSCA preparation guide sets out what the exam covers and Moonstone publishes free preparation videos. Self-study works best with regular practice under exam conditions, because knowing the material at your own pace is not the same as answering it against the clock.

There is no official figure. The structured courses compared here plan their study over 4 to 6 weeks, so start at least that far ahead of the booking, and well inside each rep's two-year DOFA window so a rewrite is still possible if someone does not pass the first time.

To see each rep's deadline, use the free DOFA deadline calculator.

The FSP keeps a record of each representative's competence, including the regulatory exam result once they pass. A PassPath export is a study record you can file alongside it, not an FSCA certificate and not the official register.

The full list of fields is in what belongs in a representative competence register.

No. PassPath is an independent preparation tool. The RE5 is set and administered through Moonstone under the FSCA, and PassPath is not affiliated with, endorsed by or accredited by either.

Sources for the FAQ: Moonstone, Regulatory Exam Body page, FSCA preparation guide for the RE1 and RE5 (Moonstone library), FSCA FAIS Notice 86 of 2018, Exemption of Services under Supervision (FSCA copy). Checked 27 October 2026.